Wk. 7 Artist Conversation-

Artist: Andrea Lauren Williams

Exhibition: Final Sacrifice,Womanhood, Religion

Media: Ceramics, Cement, Rock Clay, Mason stain

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website: http://mrsdubbayoo.weebly.com/

Instagram: @andreawilliammms

This week I had the pleasure in meeting Andrea Lauren Williams. Andrea is currently an undergraduate student in the BA ceramics department. Art has been a big part of her life in regards to her family introducing it to her at a young age. It was her husband who pushed her to pursue an education in art. She is a mother of a todler and has another child on the way. Andrea is also an animal lover who owns dogs, a chicken, and other animals. Her inspirations are not just religion, as she is very fond of it, but also motherhood and fenemity.

Andrea’s art is made out of ceramic, cement, and clay. Her mural looking sculptures are very bumpy but look as if this was done on purpose. There is not much color within her art but the little color shown is used with warm tones. Her drawings look like unfinshed sketches that are done neatly. Also all of her sculptures seem to contain white and grey in them. The murals are pretty live sized and remind me of something you can find at a church.

I believe that in Andrea’s art she is trying to portray the woman body. When I first saw these sculptures the first thing that popped into my head was motherhood. Mind you this was before I had the chance to meet her. Once I heard she was a mother this all made sense to me. I think motherhood is really important to Andrea because she is a mother of two. Mother hood is a big part of her life by what she explained. I think she did a very good job doing so.

Overall, I really enjoyed Andrea William’s art. I thought that it was very unique to any art I have seen. Also the fact that it was human size made it more appealing to my eyes. I like that fact that this type of work was so easy to read. Andrea’s art is for sure one I would love to see more of.

Leave a Reply

